Uncategorized

Superbowl Survival

While I am not a huge football fan, I have always liked a party!! Which always meant drinking lots without anyone ( hopefully) noticing.  This year a friend was hosting one and another friend was bringing all the food, he is an amazing cook.  I was excited to stuff my face with food in lieu of  red wine, more red wine, white wine, switch to vodka, then possibly a cider….

My friend even had AF beers for me. The food was delicious, kids had a great time. Mr. TWTIK had a couple drinks and I had to pop out to drop something at a client’s house.  Oh I would have been pissed if that was drinking me as I wouldn’t have been able to start drinking until after I meet up with them and it would have curtailed my drinking…  I would have instead tried to get out of it and do it today which would have taken twice as long for various reasons.

We all had lots of fun but I have to say, I was ready to leave after 4 hours…. I had 2 AF beers, 3 perriers and 2 glasses of water….. I hope I don’t always have to drink so much AF stuff during the evening, I had to pee all night.

I drove everyone home, did some laundry and prep for today and got ready for bed. Mr. TWTIK was pouring himself another drink ( he is off today) and I said to him.  I don’t care if you have another one but you seem a bit tipsy and you will regret it tomorrow.   If he had said that to me when I was drinking that would have really annoyed me and I would have tried to get a drink without him noticing or just said, ya, ya.  I want to have  drink to relax ( because I have not been relaxing all night ???)

He said “you are totally right” and poured it down the sink.  This further highlighted the difference between me ( problem drinker) him ( normal drinker).  I would never ever have done that. If we had none at home, I would have debated how to get some or if I could tolerate what booze we had at home.

Slept well, woke up feeling not well BUT not hungover and did not berate myself for taking it easy today.  My daughter and I are both under the weather but are cuddling watching T.V and I can allow myself to rest and recover.

Nothing to exciting to report over here

xo

TWTIK

 

23 thoughts on “Superbowl Survival

  1. Watching Super Bowl and drinking was always doubly bad – I barely understand the game and the scoring is almost beyond me (I’m English) so the effects of the alcohol just compounded the problem. Always used to enjoy the atmosphere and I did get the chance to see the Buccaneers in Tampa a couple of times when I worked in the states.

    Justonemore

    Like

  2. My first ever Super Bowl I was drinking Bacardi and Diet Coke and eating 7 layer dip. Why do I remember? Because I was new to America and thus just seemed like the best party ever. It might even have been the Budweiser Frogs or WAZZZUUUPP! either way I didn’t understand the game and just drank my fill.
    I am so glad you were able to cruise through relatively easily and joke about the number of AF drinks. Isn’t it funny how much liquid we realise we are consuming when it ISN’T alcohol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I remember the WAZZZZUUPPP commercials. I did have so many AF drinks, I had a brief moment eyeing the vodka, but I dislike myself so much hungover, I cannot go there. I don’t think I can take the mental anguish of a hangover and the feeling of failing again. Also Day 1 is the HARDEST for me by far….

      Like

  3. Sounds like a great night! I had to laugh at your “I hope I don’t always have to drink so much AF stuff..” comment – I used to drink alcohol fast and hard and I find I’m FINALLY starting to slow down on the AF stuff and savour it a bit more. I have to pee ALLLL the time though… way more than anyone else I know. Sheesh.

    Like

  4. It’s amazing how little interest I now have in football and rugby – it was all just an excuse to crack open multiple beers! Glad you made it through, TWTIK – despite the waterlogging effect of too many AF drinks 😉 How many days are you now? I’ve been meaning to check in, but have been neglecting the blogging world a bit over the last couple of weeks due to busy-busy. Red xx

    Like

    1. Hey Red,
      I was just going to email to make sure all was good! I am just over 5 weeks.. YAY!! I still find it tough at times but much much better. How are you? Are you still in the Doldrums? How many days are you? How is the field of bunnies -lol!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Wow – well over a month now, that’s a big milestone! I love reading your blog and seeing how well you’re doing. I’m not in the field of bunnies yet, but I can see them – almost – 86 days ☺ Red xx

        Like

Leave a comment